The Shawn D. Long Outreach Award

Outreach Award honors SSCA members who have made significant contributions to the profession by facilitating the success and access of under-represented populations or the integration of specific groups of students, professionals, or scholars into the communication discipline or professional organizations.  The significant contribution may be the initiation of a major activity, the completion of a major project, or represent a lifetime of work with numerous individuals or on numerous meaningful activities.  The scope of the activity may be national, regional, or local, and might involve mentoring, advising, liaison, or other activities.

2023 - Kennaria Brown, Berea College

2022 - Joy L. Hart, University of Louisville;

            Kandi L. Walker; University of Louisville

2021 - Lisa Corrigan, University of Arkansas

2020 - Srivi Ramasubramanian, Texas A&M University

2019 - Holley Vaughn, University of North Texas

2018 - Andre E. Johnson, University of Memphis

2017 - Amy N. Heuman, Texas Tech University

2016 - Sean Patrick O'Rourke, Sewanee: The University of the South

2015 - No Award Given

2014 - No Award Given

2013 - Jimmie Manning, Northern Illinois University

2012 - Dominique Gendrin, Xavier University

2011 - Shawn Long, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

2010 - Tina Harris, University of Georgia

2009 - William Thompson, University of Louisville

2008 - Margaret D'Silva, University of Louisville

2007 - No Award Given

2006 - Carol Winkler, Georgia State University

2005 - Steve Madden, Clemson University

2004 - No Award Given

2003 - No Award Given

2002 - Marsha Houston, University of Alabama

2001 - No Award Given

2000 - Tyrone L. Adams, University of Louisiana, Lafayette

1999 - Robert Denton, Viginia Tech

1998 - Suzanne Osborn

1997 - Lynne M. Webb, University of Memphis

1996 - Andrew King, Louisiana State University

1995 - E. Culpepper Clark, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa

1994 - Theodore Clevenger, Jr., Florida State University