91st Annual Convention

April 7-11, 2021

Hilton Norfolk The Main

Norfolk, VA

92nd Annual Convention

April 6-10, 2022

Hyatt Recency Greenville

Greenville, SC

93rd Annual Convention

April 12-16, 2023

Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront

St. Petersburg, Florida

94th Annual Convention

April 3rd - 7th, 2024

Embassy Suites

Frisco, TX



The Dwight L. Freshley Award

SSCA Call For Nominations for the Dwight L. Freshley Outstanding New Teacher Award
The Dwight L. Freshley Outstanding New Teacher Award honors Southern States Communication Association members who have demonstrated teaching excellence early in their careers. 
Nominations, including self-nominations are invited. Nominees must teach courses in communication and have taught full- time for at least two and not more than five years. 
All nominees must be SSCA members in good standing.

The person selected to receive the Freshley Outstanding New Teacher Award will be honored with a plaque and complimentary tickets to the Association Award Luncheon, where the award will be presented.

2018 - Melody Lehn

2017 - Shanshan Lou

2016 - Ryan McGeough

2015 - Mary Beth Asbury

2014 - Siobhan Smith, University of Louisville

2013 - David Terry, San Jose State University

2012 - Casey Malone Maugh, University of Southern Mississippi - Gulf Coast

2011 - Minsun Shim, University of Georgia

2010 - Lora B. Helvie-Mason, Southern University at New Orleans

2009 - Deborah Cunningham Walker, Coastal Carolina University

2008 - Monica Pombo, Appalachian State University

2007 - Billy Wooten, Berea College

2006 - Marcyrose Chvasta, University of South Florida

2005 - Daryl W. Wiesman, Clemson University

2004 - Kandi L. Walker, University of Louisville

2003 - None given

2002 - Frances Brandau, Sam Houston State University

2001 - Melanie Morgan, University of Louisville

2000 - Vanessa Beasley, Texas A & M University

1999 - Karla K. Jensen, Texas Tech University

1998 - Charla Markhum Shaw, University of Texas, Arlington

1997 - None given

1996 - Carl M. Cates, Valdosta State University

1995 - Enrique D. Rigsby, Texas A & M University

powered by MemberClicks