The Rose B. Johnson  Award

Rose B. Johnson SCJ Article Award honors the author or authors of an outstanding, significant article published in the Southern Communication Journal. The recipient of this award is determined by the Editor and editorial board of SCJ through a process established by the Editor.

2023 - Abby Arnold-Patti, University of Memphis

2022 - Brandon W. Lenoir, High Point University

2021 - Renee Edwards, Louisiana State University

2020 - Timothy Worley, Pennsylvania State University 

              Lindsey AloiaUniversity of Arkansas

2019 - Kory Floyd, University of Arizona

             Perry M. Pauley, Arizona State University

             Colin Hesse, Oregon State University

             Jen Eden, Marist College

             Alice E. Veksler, University of Connecticut 

             Nathan T. Woo, University of Arizona

2018 - Karyn Sporer, University of Maine

             Paige Toller, University of Nebraska-Omaha

2017 - Lisa A. Flores, University of Colorado Boulder

             Christy-Dale L. Sims, University of Denver

2016 - Zoë Hess Carney, Baylor University

             Mary E. Stuckey, Penn State 

2015 - Kathleen Hunt, George Mason University

2014 - Patricia Davis, Georgia State University

2013 - Wendy Atkins-Sayre, University of Southern Mississippi

2012 - Page Toller, University of Nebraska-Omaha

2011 - Daniel A. Grano, University of North Carolina at Charlotte

2010 - Deborah Thomson, East Carolina University

2009 - Christina R. Foust, University of Denver

2008 - James J. Kimble, Seton Hall University

2007 - Todd McDorman, Wabash College

2006 - Katherine Hendrix, University of Memphis

2005 - Michael Waltman, University of North Carolina

2004 - Carol B. Mills, Northern Illinois University

              Austin S. Babrow, Purdue University

2003 - Kathryn M. Olsen, University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

2002 - Suzanne Fitch, Southwest Texas State University

              Roseann M. Mandziuk, Southwest Texas State University

2001 - John R. Stewart, University of Washington

              Karen Zediker, University of Washington

2000 - Jacquline Bacon, University of Texas

1999 - Michael Pfau, University of Wisconsin

             Patricia Moy, University of Wisconsin

             Barry Radler, University of Wisconsin

             Michael K. Bridgeman, University of Wisconsin

1998 - Robert E. Terrill, Indiana University

             David Zarefsky, Northwestern University

             Marouf Hasian, Jr., Arizona State University

             Lisa A. Flores, Arizona State University

1997 - William Bailey, University of Arizona

1996 - Jill Taft Kaufman, Central Michigan University

1995 - Abran J. Salazar, Texas A & M University

             Samuel L. Becker, University of Iowa

             Virginia Daughety, University of Iowa

1994 - Calvin M. Logue, University of Georgia

             Thurmon Garner, University of Georgia

1993 - Dilip Parameshwar Gaonkar, University of Illinois

1987 - Charles R. Conrad, Texas A & M University

1984 - David Zarefsky, Northwestern University