88th Annual Convention

April 4-8, 2018

Sheraton Downtown

Nashville, TN

89th Annual Convention

April 3-7, 2019

Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa 

Montgomery, AL

 90th Annual Convention

April 1-5, 2020

Embassy Suites

Frisco, TX

The John I. Sisco Excellence in Teaching Award

John I. Sisco Excellence in Teaching Award honors SSCA members who have consistently demonstrated excellence in teaching communication throughout their academic careers.  Nominees must be employed full-time teaching courses in communication for a minimum of ten years.  In addition to the requirements noted above, each nominee must submit a statement of not more than 500 words on his or her "Philosophy and Practice of Teaching."


2017- Christina L. Moss

2016 - Ann Burnette

2015 - Carol Thompson

2014 - Leigh Anne Howard, University of Southern Illinois

2013 - Michael I. Arrington, University of Kentucky

2012 - Jennifer A. Samp, Auburn University

2011 - Barbara Biesecker, University of Georgia

2010 - Deanna Dannels, North Carolina State University

2009 - Sean O'Rourke, Furman University

2008 - Joy Hart, University of Louisville

2007 - Elizabeth Bell, University of South Florida

2006 - Mary E. Stuckey, Georgia State University

2005 - None Given

2004 - Stephen Braden, Georgia State University

2003 - None Given

2002 - Katherine Hendrix, University of Memphis

2001 - Bonnie J. Dow, University of Georgia

2000 - James A. Aune, Texas A & M University

1999 - Lawrence A. Hosman, University of Mississippi

1998 - Mark Hickson III, University of Alabama, Birmingham

1997 - George Grice, Radford University

1996 - Nina-Jo Moore, Appalachian State University

1995 - Calvin M. Logue, University of Georgia

1994 - Marsha L. Vanderford, University of South Florida

powered by MemberClicks