2014 Award Winners


Dwight L. Freshley Outstanding New Teacher Award

Siobhan Smith

John I. Sisco Excellence in Teaching Award

Leigh Anne Howard

Janice Hocker Rushing Early Career Research Award

Rebekah Fox

Po-Lin Pan

T. Earle Johnson-Edwin Paget Distinguished Service Award

J. Donald Ragsdale

Michael M. Osborn Teacher-Scholar Award

Roseann Mandziuk

Robert Bostrom Young Scholar Award

Nick J. Sciullo

Rose B. Johnson SCJ Article Award

Patricia Davis

Franklin Shirley Award

Terrell Jake Dionne

85th Annual Convention

April 8-12, 2015

Marriott Waterside


86th Annual Convention

April 6-9, 2016

Hyatt Regency


87th Annual Convention

April 5-9, 2017

Hyatt Regency

Greenville, SC

88th Annual Convention

April 4-8, 2018

Sheraton Downtown

Nashville, TN

85th Annual SSCA Convention

Communication as Art and craft

April 8-12, 2015
Marriott Waterside - Tampa


Program with Index

CUHC Students check your e-mail for registration information!

WELCOME to the Southern States Communication Association Site!


altWelcome to the Southern States Communication Association!

The Southern States Communication Association (SSCA) is among the oldest associations in the world for the advancement of study and instruction in communication.  The association was founded in 1930 and its members have been at the forefront of scholarship and teaching in the artistic, humanistic, and scientific principles of communication.  With a rich tradition of engaged scholars, SSCA draws members from across the U.S. and Canada.   The members of SSCA represent a broad range of educational institutions and communication professions.  From K-12 educational settings to doctoral-granting programs, SSCA is among the premier innovators in communication education.

The association provides members the opportunity to share their work and develop professional relationships.  Through their work, members enrich the lives of students as well as members of society. 

I invite you to learn more about SSCA.  You will find a vibrant and committed community of scholars with wide ranging interests in the role of communication in our world.  Come join us!



John Haas

President 2014-15, Southern States Communication Association 

alt Spring 2015 Newsletter

Job Postings


powered by MemberClicks