88th Annual Convention

April 4-8, 2018

Sheraton Downtown

Nashville, TN

89th Annual Convention

April 3-7, 2019

Renaissance Montgomery Hotel and Spa 

Montgomery, AL

 90th Annual Convention

April 1-5, 2020

Embassy Suites

Frisco, TX

Divisions

Applied Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Patrick Dillon

University of Memphis

patrick-dillon@outlook.com


Chair

Raymond Ozley

University of Montevallo

ozleyr@montevallo.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Kathryn Anthony

University of Southern Mississippi

Kathryn.Anthony@usm.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Andrew Pyle

Clemson University

andrewspyle@gmail.com

 

Secretary

Brian Perna

University of Southern Mississippi

 

Division Bylaws

Communication Theory (2017-18)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2016-2017)

Shaughn Keaton

Young Harris College 

sakeaton@yhc.edu

 

Chair

Michelle Violanti

University of Tennessee

violanti@utk.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Phillip Madison

Louisiana State University

phillip.madison@louisiana.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Michael Kotowski

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

mkotowsk@utk.edu

 

Secretary

Sherry Ford

University of Montevallo

fords@montevallo.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Community College (2017-18)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Nakia Welch

San Jacinto College

nswelch1@gmail.com

 

Chair

Monette Callaway

Hinds Community College

mezell@hindscc.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Laurie Metcalf

Blinn College

 

Vice Chair Elect

Nick Rangel

Houston Community College

 

Secretary

Dena Horne

Sam Houston State University

 

Division Bylaws

Freedom of Speech (2017-18)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

David Dewberry

Rider University

ddewberry@rider.edu 

 

Chair

Grant Cos

Rochester Institute of Technology

gccgpt@rit.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

John Drew

Adelphi University

 

Vice Chair Elect

Pat Arneson

Dequesne University

 

Secretary

Rebekah Fox

Texas Tech University

 

The Freedom of Speech Division supports scholarship that examines approaches to understanding freedom of speech and the First Amendment as well as issues regarding freedom of speech in contemporary society. This division provides an academic home for legal, ethical, rhetorical, historical, and other approaches to the study and application of free speech in society.

Division Bylaws / Communication Law Review

Gender Studies (2017-18)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2015-2016)

Leland Spencer

Miami University

lelandspencer@gmail.com

 

Chair

Linda Levitt

Stephen F. Austin University

levitt.linda@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Ashton Mouton

Stephen F. Austin University

ashton.mouton20@gmail.com 

 

Vice Chair Elect

Beth Bradford

Florida Southern College

mbbtrigirl@gmail.com

 

Secretary

Caroline Sawyer

Florida Southern College

cesawyer@uscb.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Instructional Development (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Stephanie Kelly

North Carolina A&T State University

sekelly@ncat.edu

 

Chair

linda pysher jurczak

Valdosta State University

lpjurczak@valdosta.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Michelle Epstein Garland

University of South Carolina Upstate

mepstein@utk.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Scott Christen

Tennessee Technological University

 

Secretary

Kevin Bryant

University of Southern Mississippi

kevin.bryant@eagles.usm.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Intercultural Communication (2017-18)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2015-2016)

Mary Meares

Schreiner University

 

Chair

Hsiu-Jung “Mindy” Chang

University of Alabama

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Mary M. Meares

University of Alabama

 

Vice Chair Elect

Jill Bergeron

University of Tennessee

 

Secretary

Jon Braddy

Florida Golf Coast University

 

Division Bylaws

Interpersonal Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Mary Beth Asbury

Middle Tennessee State University

MaryBeth.Asbury@mtsu.edu

 

Chair

Carrie West

Schreiner University

clwest@schreiner.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner 

Fran Dickson

Eastern Kentuckey University

Fran.Dickson@eku.edu  

 

Vice Chair Elect

Gary Beck

Old Dominion University

 

Secretary

Timothy R. Worley

Murray State University

tworley1@murraystate.edu

 

Division Bylaws

Language and Social Interaction (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Linda Di Desidero

Marine Corps University

linda.didesidero@gmail.com

 

Chair

Craig Stewart

University of Memphis

Craig.Stewart@memphis.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Jelena Petrovic

Stetson University   

jpetrov1@stetson.edu 

 

Vice Chair Elect

Lori Stallings

University of Memphis

 

Secretary

Mark Waard

University of Houston-Victoria

 

The Language and Social Interaction (LSI) division brings together scholars interested in the study of language, discourse, and gesture in social context. The division is methodologically diverse, including conversation analysis, (critical) discourse analysis, ethnomethodology, ethnography of communication, rhetorical analysis of language, and quantitative studies of discourse. Members of the division research language and social interaction within a variety of communication contexts, including interpersonal, small group, organizational, health, public & political, and media.

Division Bylaws

Mass Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Gyromas Newman

University of Mobile

 

Chair

Melissa Smith

Mississippi University for Women

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Brian Brantley

Texas A&M - San Antonio

bcbrantley16@gmail.com

 

Vice Chair Elect/Secretary

Dean Cummings

Georgia Southern University

 

The purpose of the Mass Communication Division is to promote the study and teaching of mass communication at all academic levels and in various academic and non-academic settings. The Division promotes scholarship in the areas of traditional and new mass media -- including television, newspapers, magazines, radio, film, Internet, social media, and other media. The Division recognizes and encourages research that addresses these topics in all contexts and levels of analysis, employing a variety of methodologies. The Division also provides a venue for presenting creative media works.

Division Bylaws  /  Division Website

Performance Studies (2017-18)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Brianne Waychoff

CUNY Borough of Manhattan Community College

bwaychoff@bmcc.cuny.edu 

 

Chair

Danielle Dick McGeough

University of Northern Iowa

 

Vice Chair

Sarah Jackson

Southern University at New Orleans

 

Vice Chair Elect

Ariel Grath

Georgia College and State University

 

Secretary

Jade Huell

California State Northridge

 

Division Bylaws

Political Communication (2017-18)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative

Darrell Roe

Eastern New Mexico University

 

Chair

Marcus J. Coleman 

University of Southern Mississippi

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Nick Rangel

Houston Community College

 

Vice Chair Elect

Ryan Neville-Shepard

University of Arkansas

 

Secretary

Rico Self

Louisiana State University

 

The purpose of the Political Communication Division is to support the teaching and research of political communication. The scope of this Division is broad, as the study of politics and communication may encompass the communicative activity of citizens, individual political figures, governmental institutions, the media, political campaigns, advocacy groups and social movements. This Division recognizes and encourages research that addresses political communication topics in all contexts and levels of analysis, employing a variety of methodologies.

Division Bylaws / Division Website

Popular Communication (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Matt Ramsey

Shippensburg University

mcramsey@ship.edu

 

Chair 

Dave Nelson

Valdosta State University

drnelson@valdosta.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner 

Emily Ryalls

Mississippi State University

eryalls@yahoo.com  

 

 

Vice Chair Elect

Garrett Castleberry

Oklahoma City University

 

Secretary

Garrett Castleberry

Oklahoma City University

 

Division Bylaws

Public Relations (2017-18)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative (2015-2016)

Christopher J. McCollough

Columbus State University

 

Chair

Ashli Stokes

University of North Carolina - Charlotte

aqstokes@uncc.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Amber Smallwood

University of West Georgia

 

Vice Chair Elect

Brigitta Brunner

Auburu

 

Secretary

Michelle Groaver

Georgia Southern

 

Division Bylaws

Rhetoric and Public Address (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Christi Moss

University of Memphis-Lambuth 
cmoss2@memphis.edu  

 

Chair

Meredith Bagley

University of Alabama

mbagley@ua.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Lisa Corrigan

University of Arkansas

dortise@gmail.com 

  

Vice Chair Elect

Kevin Marinelli

 

Secretary

Melody Lehn

 

Division Bylaws

Southern ARGUMENTATION AND FORENSICS (2016-17)

Call for submissions.

Immediate Past-Chair / Nominating Committee Representative 

Patrick Wheaton

Georgia Southern University

pwheaton@georgiasouthern.edu

 

Chair

Kevin Bryant

University of Southern Mississippi

kevin.bryant@eagles.usm.edu

 

Vice Chair / Program Planner

Adam Key

Texas A&M University

adamkey@tamu.edu

 

Vice Chair Elect

Keven Rudrow

University of Memphis

 

Secretary

Chris Vincent

Louisiana State University

 

Division Bylaws

 
powered by MemberClicks