Freedom of Speech Division Business Meeting Saturday, April 9, 2022 Minutes prepared by Ben Medeiros

## In attendance

Dave Dewberry, Rebekah Fox, Ben Medeiros, Joshua Guitar, Chandra Maldonado

## Highlights

- The group recognized Chandra for her work on program planning
- Discussion of procedures and policies regarding reviewers and who is planning when
  - Joshua Guitar has agreed to be part of division planning
  - Ben Medeiros will be moving up to planner following the next SSCA, which will leave the secretary position open
    - Bekah nominated Josh Guitar for secretary position
    - Josh Guitar elected to secretary position unanimously
- Discussion of membership: we have 30 members now but could still retain division status because we will still be above 10%
- A plan was discussed for the upcoming year to look in this year's program for people doing work that could have been presented in our division and to reach out to them to invite them to submit to FOS
- Dave Dewberry moved to have everyone commit to trying to get 5 people to submit to the division in the following year and to then move on to awards
- Benjamin Medeiros has received the Janice Hocker Rushing Early Career Award

## **Division Awards**

"Top Faculty Paper: The Politicization of Protests and Protection: The Major Free Speech Issues During COVID-19 Pandemic"

Ben Medeiros, SUNY Plattsburgh Rebekah Fox, Texas State University Ann Burnette, Texas State University David Dewberry, Rider University

James Madison Prize: "Dissent, Discourse, and Democracy: Whistleblowers as Sites of Political Contestation" (2021) Joshua Guitar, *Young Harris College*